Sun, Jul 18 | Virtual Encounter

Ancient and Baroque Pleasures: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este at Tivoli

(London 7pm, New York 2pm, Chicago 1pm, Los Angeles 11am) Presented by Richard Bowen
Registration is Closed
Ancient and Baroque Pleasures: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este at Tivoli

Time & Location

Jul 18, 8:00 PM GMT+2
Virtual Encounter

About the Event

19 miles to the east of Rome is the historic town of Tivoli. In the times of the Ancient Romans the town was known as Tibur, and it was a popular summer destination for Rome’s aristocracy, who had built a string of impressive extra-urban villas there. The most flamboyant of these patrician mansions was the huge dwelling constructed by the emperor Hadrian (117-138 AD). Hadrian’s Villa may well have been in region of three hundred acres in size, and the emperor created a series of sumptuous buildings and architectural wonders that reflected the pinnacle of Ancient Roman engineering techniques of the age.

Centuries later, in the sixteenth century, Tivoli also saw the construction of the Villa d’Este by the Governor of Tivoli, Cardinal Ippolito d’Este, a man who had aspirations on becoming pope. The villa today is a wonder to behold, and has one of the most spectacular Italian Renaissance gardens in Italy. The Villa d’Este garden is rendered even more remarkable thanks to its intricate and glorious eye-catching fountains that are spread over a series of terraces.

Join Richard Bowen for a presentation on these two wonderful residences that are both UNESCO World Heritage Sites.

Share This Event