Virtual Art

History Encounters

Look. Focus. Analyze. Connect. Enjoy.

Follow these steps to have a meaningful encounter with art. Each time you do, you exercise your brain, raise your spirits, and feed your soul.

 

I invite you to my Art History Encounters, where we come together online as an extraordinary international community to explore Italian art and culture. Each presentation focuses on an artist, place, period, or organization of historical significance. These presentations are possible only through your generous contributions.

Join our family of Italian art enthusiasts by donating and subscribing.

(The suggested minimum per presentation is $20 though of course, any amount is appreciated.) 

Make a Donation

(Suggested minimum per presentation is $20)

Subscribe to a

Monthly

Membership Plan

Become a Patron

Find the membership plan that works well for you and immerse yourself in Italian art and culture, from wherever you are. 

OR

When donating with Zelle, please use elaine.ruffolo@gmail.com

On Feb 28th join the Zoom meeting by

clicking here

If prompted for a passcode please enter - 097890

When
Feb 28, 8:00 PM GMT+1
Where
Virtual Encounter

Please note presentation topics and dates are subject to change, so please check back often or join our mailing list for updated event details. 

Upcoming Events

  • Daily Life in Renaissance Florence: Street Life (part 2)
    Feb 28, 8:00 PM GMT+1
    Virtual Encounter
    (London 7pm, New York 2pm, Chicago 1pm, Los Angeles 11am)
  • As Will Please the Ladies: Renaissance Nuns.
    Mar 02, 8:00 PM GMT+1
    Virtual Encounter
    (London 7pm, New York 2pm, Chicago 1pm, Los Angeles 11am) Presented by Professor Gary Radke
  • Magnificenza: the Pitti Palace (part 1)
    Mar 07, 8:00 PM GMT+1
    Virtual Encounter
    (London 7pm, New York 2pm, Chicago 1pm, Los Angeles 11am)
  • From Calabria to Yale: In Search of Italian-American Identity
    Mar 09, 8:00 PM GMT+1
    Virtual Encounter
    (London 7pm, New York 2pm, Chicago 1pm, Los Angeles 11am) Presented by Professor Joseph Luzzi
  • Magnificenza: the Pitti Palace and the Boboli Gardens (part 2)
    Mar 14, 8:00 PM GMT+1
    Virtual Encounter
    (London 7pm, New York 3pm, Chicago 2pm, Los Angeles 1pm) *US times account for Daylight Savings Time
  • Staging the Sacred: Jacopo Tintoretto and Religious Painting in Renaissance Venice
    Mar 16, 8:00 PM GMT+1
    Virtual Encounter
    Please note your timezone* - (London 7pm, New York 3pm, Chicago 2pm, Los Angeles 1pm) *US times account for Daylight Savings Time
  • The Young Michelangelo
    Mar 21, 8:00 PM GMT+1
    Virtual Encounter
    Please note your timezone* - (London 7pm, New York 3pm, Chicago 2pm, Los Angeles 1pm) *US times account for Daylight Savings Time
  • Collectors and their Collections: Bernard Berenson's Villa i Tatti
    Mar 23, 8:00 PM GMT+1
    Virtual Encounter
    Please note your timezone* - (London 7pm, New York 3pm, Chicago 2pm, Los Angeles 1pm) *US times account for Daylight Savings Time Professor Mary Ann Calo
  • Florence's Cathedral Complex - From the Bottom Up (Part 1)
    Mar 28, 8:00 PM GMT+2
    Virtual Encounter
    (London 7pm, New York 2pm, Chicago 1pm, Los Angeles 11am)
  • Easter Traditions in Italy
    Mar 30, 8:00 PM GMT+2
    Virtual Encounter
    (London 7pm, New York 2pm, Chicago 1pm, Los Angeles 11am) Presented by Jennifer Cowden
  • Contemporary Art: The Now, the Current, the Emerging
    Apr 06, 7:00 PM GMT+2
    Virtual Encounter
    (London 7pm, New York 2pm, Chicago 1pm, Los Angeles 11am) Presented by Natasha Schlesinger
  • The Cathedral of Florence: From the Top-Down (part 2)
    Apr 11, 8:00 PM GMT+2
    Virtual Encounter
    (London 7pm, New York 2pm, Chicago 1pm, Los Angeles 11am)
  • Baroque Ecstacy
    Apr 13, 7:00 PM GMT+2
    Virtual Encounter
    (London 7pm, New York 2pm, Chicago 1pm, Los Angeles 11am) Presented by Professor Mary Ann Calo
  • Along the Gran Canal
    Apr 18, 8:00 PM GMT+2
    Virtual Encounter
    (London 7pm, New York 2pm, Chicago 1pm, Los Angeles 11am)
  • The Best of the Bargello
    Apr 25, 8:00 PM GMT+2
    Virtual Encounter
    (London 7pm, New York 2pm, Chicago 1pm, Los Angeles 11am)
  • War of the Muses - Opera's Classical Roots
    May 18, 8:00 PM GMT+2
    Virtual Encounter
    (London 7pm, New York 2pm, Chicago 1pm, Los Angeles 11am)