Tue, Apr 20 | Virtual Encounter

Food of the Gods: Adventures in Chocolate

(London 7pm, New York 2pm, Chicago 1pm, Los Angeles 11am) Presented by Melanie King
Registration is Closed
Food of the Gods: Adventures in Chocolate

Time & Location

Apr 20, 8:00 PM GMT+2
Virtual Encounter

About the Event

Chocolate has enjoyed a long and storied—and sometime controversial—history since the Spanish first brought it back from Mesoamerica, where the Aztecs had used it in their rituals for human sacrifices. Since then, chocolate has been used as a murder weapon, in a plot against the British monarchy, as a hangover cure, and even as a balm for the testicles. If the English were at first distrustful of chocolate, thinking that drinking it hot would boil the blood, the Italians enthusiastically embraced this new-fangled food, creating weird and wonderful dishes such as chocolate-covered liver and lasagne with chocolate sauce. Melanie King, British author and social historian, will share some of the lesser known myths and legends about the strange adventures of chocolate.

Registration is Closed

Share This Event