top of page

Sun, Apr 14

|

Virtual Encounter

From the Macchiaioli to the Divisionists: The Emergence and Expansion of the Modern in Risorgimento Italy

(London 7pm, New York 2pm, Chicago 1pm, Los Angeles 11am) Presented by Jenni Hirsh

Registration is Closed
See other events
From the Macchiaioli to the Divisionists: The Emergence and Expansion of the Modern in Risorgimento Italy
From the Macchiaioli to the Divisionists: The Emergence and Expansion of the Modern in Risorgimento Italy

Time & Location

Apr 14, 2024, 8:00 PM GMT+2

Virtual Encounter

Guests

About the Event

This lecture focuses on Italian artists whose work emerges in tandem with the reunification (or Risorgimento) of Italy beginning in 1860 and traces the evolution of Italian modernism into the early twentieth century. Specifically, we will explore the work of the Macchiaioli artists such as Giovanni Fattori, Telemaco Signorini, and Silvestro Lega as well as key divisionists, such as Giovanni Segantini, Giuseppe Pellizza da Volpedo, and Angelo Morbelli. In addition, we will consider how singular practitioners, such as Giovanni Boldini and especially Medardo Rosso, created trademark styles all their own as expat artists based in Paris. Finally, we will close with a look at examples of Stile Liberty—Italy's version of art nouveau—expanding our exploration to include design through examples of architecture (such as the Quartiere Coppedé), the decorative arts, and more!

Share This Event

bottom of page