top of page

Sun, Mar 17

|

Virtual Encounter

Images of Christ: Variations and Themes

(London 6pm, New York 2pm, Chicago 1pm, Los Angeles 11am) *NOTE: Start time in Europe is earlier than usual to accommodate Daylight Savings Time in US. US start times unchanged

Registration is Closed
See other events
Images of Christ: Variations and Themes
Images of Christ: Variations and Themes

Time & Location

Mar 17, 2024, 7:00 PM GMT+1

Virtual Encounter

Guests

About the Event

Everyone knows what Jesus looks like. He is the most painted figure in all of Western art, recognised everywhere as having long hair and a beard, and dressed in a long robe with long sleeves and a mantle. Jesus is so familiar that he can be recognised on pancakes or pieces of toast. Actually, the depiction of him in art took several centuries to reach a conventional standardized form for his physical appearance. Discover how the social, political and religious conditions had a direct impact on the image of the Christ.

Share This Event

bottom of page