Sun, May 02 | Virtual Encounter

The Bookseller of Florence: Vespasiano da Bisticci

(London 7pm, New York 2pm, Chicago 1pm, Los Angeles 11am) Presented by Ross King
Registration is Closed
The Bookseller of Florence: Vespasiano da Bisticci

Time & Location

May 02, 8:00 PM GMT+2
Virtual Encounter

About the Event

The Renaissance in Florence conjures images of beautiful frescoes and elegant buildings—the handiwork of the city’s artists and architects. But equally important were geniuses of another kind: Florence’s manuscript hunters, scribes, scholars and booksellers, who blew the dust off a thousand years of history and, through the discovery and diffusion of ancient knowledge, imagined a new and enlightened world. At the heart of this activity was Vespasiano da Bisticci, known as “the king of the world’s booksellers.” From his bookstore beside the Bargello he created deluxe manuscripts of the classics for clients that included popes, kings and three generations of Medici. This lecture, based on Ross’s new book, will introduce Vespasiano, one of the forgotten titans of fifteenth-century Florence.

Registration is Closed

Share This Event