top of page

Sun, Nov 19

|

Virtual Encounter

The Court of Urbino

(London 7pm, New York 2pm, Chicago 1pm, Los Angeles 11am) Presented by Frank Dabell

Registration is Closed
See other events
The Court of Urbino
The Court of Urbino

Time & Location

Nov 19, 2023, 8:00 PM GMT+1

Virtual Encounter

Guests

About the Event

The great cultural revival that was the Renaissance arose both from the rediscovery of classical antiquity and from the development of an entirely new vision of humanity and its potential for achievement. The most powerful of Italian courts competed to become centers of literary and artistic patronage, scholarly research, and learning. In Umbria, Federico da Montefeltro was nicknamed “The Light of Italy” for his contributions to the era’s culture. With his beloved wife Battista Sforza at his side, Frederico’s court of Urbino came to reflect the virtues of the Renaissance in art, intellect, justice, governance, and public welfare. Artists from Italy and abroad—including della Francesca, Raphael, and Titian—flourished under patronages here, sharing influences and playing a role in shaping the Montefeltro family’s aristocratic identity and the politics of style. With the Ducal Palace providing the splendid backdrop, Urbino’s became the ideal princely court among the most illustrious of Europe.

Share This Event

bottom of page